Collegiate Outdoor Athletes Of The Year — Michael Norman & Maggie Ewen

A pair of long hurdlers—Rai Benjamin of USC and Sydney McLaughlin of Kentucky—turned in the top single performances of the collegiate outdoor season with their CRs of 47.02 and 52.75. Each ended up with only honorable mention honors in our selection of Collegiate Outdoor Athletes Of The Year. Narrowly edging out Benjamin and McLaughlin were Michael Norman of USC and Maggie Ewen of Arizona State.

In becoming the first Trojan men’s winner of the honor, Norman not only ran 43.61 at the NCAA, but also produced the fastest collegiate relay split ever, 43.06, at the West Regional.

As for Ewen, Arizona State’s first-ever women’s winner, while she didn’t score her hoped-for NCAA throws triple, she did win both the shot and discus. Earlier in the season she had claimed the CR in the shot (63-10¼/19.46) and hammer (twice: 241-6/73.61 & 244-6/75.43).

The all-time winners (women are listed with the last name they were using at the time):

Year Men’s AOY Women’s AOY
2018 Michael Norman (USC) Maggie Ewen (Arizona State)
2017 Fred Kerley (Texas A&M) Raevyn Rogers (Oregon)
2016 Jarrion Lawson (Arkansas) Courtney Okolo (Texas)
2015 Shawn Barber (Akron) Jenna Prandini (Oregon)
2014 Trayvon Bromell (Baylor) Courtney Okolo (Texas)
2013 Derek Drouin (Indiana) Brianna Rollins (Clemson)
2012 Cam Levins (Southern Utah) Brianne Theisen (Oregon)
2011 Ngoni Makusha (Florida State) Sheila Reid (Villanova)
2010 Ryan Whiting (Arizona State) Queen Harrison (Virginia Tech)
2009 Galen Rupp (Oregon) Jenny Barringer (Colorado)
2008 Richard Thompson (LSU) Sally Kipyego (Texas Tech)
2007 Walter Dix (Florida State) Natasha Hastings (South Carolina)
2006 Xavier Carter (LSU) Ginnie Powell (USC)
2005 Kerron Clement (Florida) Monique Henderson (UCLA)
2004 Alistair Cragg (Arkansas) Sheena Johnson (UCLA)
2003 Daniel Lincoln (Arkansas) Sanya Richards (Texas)
2002 Justin Gatlin (Tennessee) Lashinda Demus (South Carolina)
2001 Janus Robberts (SMU) Brianna Glenn (Arizona)
2000 Gábor Máté (Auburn) Seilala Sua (UCLA)
1999 Terrence Trammell (South Carolina) Suziann Reid (Texas)
1998 Angelo Taylor (Georgia Tech) Amy Skieresz (Arizona)
1997 Robert Howard (Arkansas) Tiffany Lott-Hogan (BYU)
1996 Ato Boldon (UCLA) Tonya Williams (Illinois)
1995 John Godina (UCLA) Diane Guthrie-Gresham (George Mason)