Collegiate Outdoor Athletes Of The Year — Trey Cunningham & Abby Steiner

Florida State’s Trey Cunningham (ERROL ANDERSON/THE SPORTING IMAGE) was undefeated in the 110H; Kentucky’s Abby Steiner (MIKE SCOTT) claimed the Collegiate Record in the 200.

SPEED WAS THE KEY to winning T&FN’s Outdoor Collegiate Athlete Of The Year awards in ’22. Trey Cunningham of Florida State did it with hurdles in the way, Kentucky’s Abby Steiner did it without.

Cunningham was undefeated during the campaign, wrapping things up by missing the CR in the 110H by just 0.02. That equaled the No. 2 collegiate performance ever. He also produced the =No. 7 (13.07) and =No. 9 (13.10) marks.

Honorable mention to NCAA 100/200 double champ Joe Fahnbulleh of Florida and decathlon winner Ayden Owens-Delerme. AOD set a CR in the decathlon, but lost that to Kyle Garland before handling Garland in Eugene. CR setters in general didn’t fare well at the Nationals, all failing to win: Eliud Kipsang 1500, Abdihamid Nur 5000, Mykolas Alekna DT and Garland.

As for Steiner, she sewed things up with a busy final day at the NCAA by lowering the CR in the 200 to 21.80 after taking 3rd in the 100. Our AOY honors are individually based, so she got no extra credit for being on the winning 4×4 (or the earlier CR 4×4), but her brilliant relay legs of 48.78 and 48.92 did aid her cause.

Honorable mention to Cal’s 3-time hammer CR setter Camryn Rogers, steeple CR setter Courtney Wayment of BYU, Ohio State’s shot CR setter Adelaide Aquilla and Florida all-arounder Anna Hall.

The all-time winners, since we began this award in ’95 (athletes are listed with the last name they were using at the time):

Year Men’s AOY Women’s AOY
2022 Trey Cunningham (Florida State) Abby Steiner (Kentucky)
2021 JuVaughn Harrison (LSU) Athing Mu (Texas A&M)
2020 (none)
2019 Grant Holloway (Florida) Sha’Carri Richardson (LSU)
2018 Michael Norman (USC) Maggie Ewen (Arizona State)
2017 Fred Kerley (Texas A&M) Raevyn Rogers (Oregon)
2016 Jarrion Lawson (Arkansas) Courtney Okolo (Texas)
2015 Shawn Barber (Akron) Jenna Prandini (Oregon)
2014 Trayvon Bromell (Baylor) Courtney Okolo (Texas)
2013 Derek Drouin (Indiana) Brianna Rollins (Clemson)
2012 Cam Levins (Southern Utah) Brianne Theisen (Oregon)
2011 Ngoni Makusha (Florida State) Sheila Reid (Villanova)
2010 Ryan Whiting (Arizona State) Queen Harrison (Virginia Tech)
2009 Galen Rupp (Oregon) Jenny Barringer (Colorado)
2008 Richard Thompson (LSU) Sally Kipyego (Texas Tech)
2007 Walter Dix (Florida State) Natasha Hastings (South Carolina)
2006 Xavier Carter (LSU) Ginnie Powell (USC)
2005 Kerron Clement (Florida) Monique Henderson (UCLA)
2004 Alistair Cragg (Arkansas) Sheena Johnson (UCLA)
2003 Daniel Lincoln (Arkansas) Sanya Richards (Texas)
2002 Justin Gatlin (Tennessee) Lashinda Demus (South Carolina)
2001 Janus Robberts (SMU) Brianna Glenn (Arizona)
2000 Gábor Máté (Auburn) Seilala Sua (UCLA)
1999 Terrence Trammell (South Carolina) Suziann Reid (Texas)
1998 Angelo Taylor (Georgia Tech) Amy Skieresz (Arizona)
1997 Robert Howard (Arkansas) Tiffany Lott-Hogan (BYU)
1996 Ato Boldon (UCLA) Tonya Williams (Illinois)
1995 John Godina (UCLA) Diane Guthrie-Gresham (George Mason)