Collegiate Outdoor Athletes Of The Year — Leo Neugebauer & Parker Valby

NCAA 10K/5K doubler Valby also broke absolute CRs three times. World class decathlete Neugebauer put up two of the four best all-time collegiate scores, breaking his own CR from ’23 by 125 points at the NCAA. (KIRBY LEE/IMAGE OF SPORT)

A PAIR OF NEW SCHOOLS etched their names on the lists as our Collegiate Outdoor Athlete Of The Year awards went to Leo Neugebauer of Texas and Parker Valby of Florida. To be more precise the Longhorns and Gators have been our AOYs before, but for the opposite sex.

Neugebauer, a 23-year-old German, had a pair of brilliant 2-day runs in the decathlon, first totaling 8708 — then the No. 3 collegiate total ever — at the Texas Relays. That was nothing compared to his Collegiate Record 8961 at the NCAA, moving to No. 6 on the all-time world list. He was an honorable mention last year.

Honorable mention on the men’s side to a trio of NCAA champions: Caleb Dean of Texas Tech (400H), Rowan Hamilton of Cal (HT) and Christopher Morales-Williams of Georgia (400). Dean set an American CR at 47.23, the undefeated Hamilton became the No. 8 collegian ever and Morales-Williams heads the world list at 44.05.

In a year in which women’s CR-setters ran rampant, the 21-year-old Valby sewed up top honors by uniquely adding a pair of NCAA crowns to her trio of CRs (2 in the 5000, 1 in the 10,000).

HMs to CR setters Nickisha Pryce of Arkansas (400), Doris Lemngole of Alabama (steeple), Jaida Ross of Oregon (3 in the shot) and Rhema Otabor of Nebraska (javelin). And we’ve got to mention NCAA doublers McKenzie Long of Ole Miss (100/200) and Ackelia Smith of Texas (LJ/TJ).

The all-time winners, since we began this award in ’95 (women are listed with the last name they were using at the time):

Year Men’s AOY Women’s AOY
2024 Leo Neugebauer (Texas) Parker Valby (Florida)
2023 Jaydon Hibbert (Arkansas) Julien Alfred (Texas)
2022 Trey Cunningham (Florida State) Abby Steiner (Kentucky)
2021 JuVaughn Harrison (LSU) Athing Mu (Texas A&M)
2020 (none)
2019 Grant Holloway (Florida) Sha’Carri Richardson (LSU)
2018 Michael Norman (USC) Maggie Ewen (Arizona State)
2017 Fred Kerley (Texas A&M) Raevyn Rogers (Oregon)
2016 Jarrion Lawson (Arkansas) Courtney Okolo (Texas)
2015 Shawn Barber (Akron) Jenna Prandini (Oregon)
2014 Trayvon Bromell (Baylor) Courtney Okolo (Texas)
2013 Derek Drouin (Indiana) Brianna Rollins (Clemson)
2012 Cam Levins (Southern Utah) Brianne Theisen (Oregon)
2011 Ngoni Makusha (Florida State) Sheila Reid (Villanova)
2010 Ryan Whiting (Arizona State) Queen Harrison (Virginia Tech)
2009 Galen Rupp (Oregon) Jenny Barringer (Colorado)
2008 Richard Thompson (LSU) Sally Kipyego (Texas Tech)
2007 Walter Dix (Florida State) Natasha Hastings (South Carolina)
2006 Xavier Carter (LSU) Ginnie Powell (USC)
2005 Kerron Clement (Florida) Monique Henderson (UCLA)
2004 Alistair Cragg (Arkansas) Sheena Johnson (UCLA)
2003 Daniel Lincoln (Arkansas) Sanya Richards (Texas)
2002 Justin Gatlin (Tennessee) Lashinda Demus (South Carolina)
2001 Janus Robberts (SMU) Brianna Glenn (Arizona)
2000 Gábor Máté (Auburn) Seilala Sua (UCLA)
1999 Terrence Trammell (South Carolina) Suziann Reid (Texas)
1998 Angelo Taylor (Georgia Tech) Amy Skieresz (Arizona)
1997 Robert Howard (Arkansas) Tiffany Lott-Hogan (BYU)
1996 Ato Boldon (UCLA) Tonya Williams (Illinois)
1995 John Godina (UCLA) Diane Guthrie-Gresham (George Mason)