Bookmark and Share



Eaton Leads An American 1–2

eaton ashton aoyFor the first time since ’07 (Tyson Gay & Jeremy Wariner), Team USA claimed the top 2 spots in T&FN’s annual Athlete Of The Year voting, Ashton Eaton scoring an easy win over Christian Taylor.

Eaton’s World Record in the decathlon was the deciding factor as he picked up 22 votes for No. 1 from our 36-member international panel of experts. Triple jump leader Taylor had 10 No. 1s, with British distanceman Mo Farah getting 2 and Jamaican sprinter Usain Bolt & Polish hammer thrower Paweł Fajdek 1 apiece.

Eaton’s margin of victory would have been even bigger had not two voters taken the stance that his contesting only a single decathlon didn’t constitute a “full season” and didn’t deserve a place in the Top 10, despite the magnitude of his WR win in Beijing.

Eaton becomes the first decathlete to win our AOY crown since Bill Toomey way back in ’69. Since then, there have been two runners-up: Bruce Jenner in ’76 and Daley Thompson in ’82.

Overall, 16 men received votes in our panel’s voting.

Here’s the Top 10 (with events in which they made the Top 10 in our by-event World Rankings):

1. Ashton Eaton (US—decathlon) 321
2. Christian Taylor (US—triple jump) 300
3. Usain Bolt (Jamaica—100/200) 233
4. Mo Farah (Great Britain—5000/10,000) 210
5. Paweł Fajdek (Poland—hammer) 194
6. Asbel Kiprop (Kenya—1500) 164
7. Wayde van Niekerk (South Africa—400) 145
8. Justin Gatlin (US—l00/200) 116
9. Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya—marathon) 92
10. Joe Kovacs (US—shot) 73

Full details on the 2015 Athlete Of The Year choices can be found in the February edition of Track & Field News.

jump to women’s voting

© Track & Field News 2015