Facts, Not Fiction

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    prosthetics now an advantage? [split]
    In about 2006-07 I was a visiting professor at Walter Reed Army Medical Center in Washington DC. I got to visit the wards, see the patients, saw a lot of amputees, and talked to the CPOs (certified prosthetists-orthotists). Learned a lot. The US military and their CPOs probably know more about amputations and prosthetics than anybody in the world.

I saw a number of cases at morning report. They always asked my opinion and I would comment on them, usually trying someway to save the extremity. Often I was corrected by the WR orthopaedists, who said they would opt for an amputation. They said their prosthetists and prosthetics were so good that the soldiers often opted for the amputation because to them they were better than a damaged limb.

This was in the middle of the Pistorius controversy so I asked the CPOs about that. They said they were on the verge of making competition prosthetics that were better than a normal limb in terms of energy return. I brought this up to a USA Today reporter who asked me about it when interviewing me about Pistorius and she absolutely roasted me on the phone about that opinion.

I would suspect the military prosthetists have now gotten those prosthetics to where they are better than a limb in terms in energy return.

I think what Blake Leeper is doing is incredible but as somebody else commented, its a slippery slope we're going down.

2. Collapse Details