Facts, Not Fiction

 
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 11 of 11
  1. Collapse Details
     
    #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    418
    gm, if I'm understanding you correctly, then Haugh's 5th round winning throw should still have been a foot foul even if this was a USATF meet, because about 1/3 of his shoe was contacting the ground outside the rim at the conclusion of the throw, after the hammer had left his hands, not on his first rotation. Also, it did not occur behind the the line (it was in the half of the ring closest to the landing area).

    However, his 6th round throw would also have won the competition, assuming it wasn't also a foot foul.

    Quote Originally Posted by gm View Post
    Interestingly, USATF rules have this proviso:

    NOTE: It will not be considered a failure if the touch is made without providing any propulsion and occurs during any first rotation at a point completely behind the white line which is drawn outside the circle running, theoretically, through the center of the circle.
    Last edited by Charley Shaffer; 06-09-2019 at 04:20 AM. Reason: Clarity
    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •