Collegiate Women’s Outdoor Athlete Of The Year — LSU’s Sha’Carri Richardson


AS ON THE MEN’S SIDE, the cracking of an ancient Collegiate Record proved to be the key to this year’s choice as our Collegiate Women’s Outdoor Athlete Of The Year as Sha’Carri Richardson did the honors. The LSU frosh was undefeated in the 100 by collegians and lost only the NCAA final in the 200, moving to No. 5 collegian ever in that event. Honorable mention to Janeek Brown, whose 12.40 hurdle win missed the CR by just 0.01. The Arkansas soph then came back to take 4th in the 200.

The all-time winners, since we began this award in ’95 (women are listed with the last name they were using at the time):

Year Women’s AOY
2019 Sha’Carri Richardson (LSU)
2018 Maggie Ewen (Arizona State)
2017 Raevyn Rogers (Oregon)
2016 Courtney Okolo (Texas)
2015 Jenna Prandini (Oregon)
2014 Courtney Okolo (Texas)
2013 Brianna Rollins (Clemson)
2012 Brianne Theisen (Oregon)
2011 Sheila Reid (Villanova)
2010 Queen Harrison (Virginia Tech)
2009 Jenny Barringer (Colorado)
2008 Sally Kipyego (Texas Tech)
2007 Natasha Hastings (South Carolina)
2006 Ginnie Powell (USC)
2005 Monique Henderson (UCLA)
2004 Sheena Johnson (UCLA)
2003 Sanya Richards (Texas)
2002 Lashinda Demus (South Carolina)
2001 Brianna Glenn (Arizona)
2000 Seilala Sua (UCLA)
1999 Suziann Reid (Texas)
1998 Amy Skieresz (Arizona)
1997 Tiffany Lott-Hogan (BYU)
1996 Tonya Williams (Illinois)
1995 Diane Guthrie-Gresham (George Mason)